Africa-UniNet Country Representatives

hand reaching into a big bowl which is filled with citrus fruits © BOKU/Melcher Andreas

General information

All Africa-UniNet members in a country form the respective National Network Assembly. Members of the National Network Assemblies are those persons who also represent the institutions in the General Assembly. They are appointed by their home institutions for a period of 3 years. Reappointments are permissible.

The need for cooperation between the member institutions will be defined in the National Network Assemblies. The National Network Assemblies elect a Country Representative and a Deputy Country Representative. The Country Representatives are entitled to take part in the election of the Board members in the General Assembly.

Country representatives

Here you can find a list of the country representatives and the deputy country representatives 2023-2026:


  • Austria

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Anke Bockreis (University of Innsbruck) |

Deputy: Univ.-Prof. DI Dr. DDr.h.c. Hubert Hasenauer (University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna) |

  • Burkina Faso

Dr. Adama Oueda (Université de Ouahigouya) |

  • Burundi

Dr. Victor Barantota (Hope Africa University) |

  • DR Congo

Rector Prof. Dr. Ghislain Bisimwa Balaluka (Université Catholique de Bukavu) | and


  • Egypt

Prof. Dr. Elsayed Elsharkawy, PhD |

  • Ethiopia

Associate Prof. Anegagregn Gashaw Ferede (Debre Tabor University University) |

  • Gabon

Prof. Dr. Ayôla Akim Adegnika (Centre de Recherches Médicales de Lambaréné) |

  • Ghana

Associate Prof. Courage K.S. Saba (University for Development Studies) |
Deputy: Prof. Raymond A. Atuguba (University of Ghana) |

  • Kenya

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Benedict M. Mutua (Kibabii University) |
Deputy: Dr. Joel Onyango (ACTS) |

  • Lesotho

Prof. Moeketsi Mpholo (National University of Lesotho) |

  • Morocco

Prof. Fatima Zohra Iflahen (Cadi Ayyad University) |

  • Mozambique

Constancio Machanguana, PhD (Universidade Zambeze) |

  • Namibia

Prof. Jane Masiiwa Misihairabgwi (University of Namibia) |

  • Nigeria

Prof. Dr. Christian Anieke (Godfrey Okoye University) |
Deputy: Prof. Abdulkarim Sabo Mohammed (Federal University Dutse) |

  • São Tomé and Príncipe

Prof. Miclay Dos Reis Pereira Carvalho, PhD (University of São Tomé and Príncipe) |

  • South Africa

Dr. Carol Nonkwelo (University of Pretoria) | 
Deputy: Dr. David Phaho; Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Research, Technology Innovation & Partnerships (Cape Peninsula University of Technology) |

  • Tanzania

Dr. Zena Mnasi Mabeyo (Institute of Social Work) |

  • Uganda

Dr. Patrick Musinguzi (Makerere University) |
Deputy: Dr. Mary Kaggwa (Kyambogo University) |